Douglas K. Rex


Distinguished Professor (2019)
Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
School of Medicine


Dr. Douglas K. Rex is Chancellor's Professor and Professor of Medicine at Indiana University School of Medicine and Director of Endoscopy at Indiana University Hospital in Indianapolis. He graduated from Harvard College, Summa Cum Laude in 1976 and with highest distinction from Indiana University School of Medicine in 1980. He served as Chief Medical Resident at Indiana University Hospital and joined the faculty at Indiana University in 1985. He is a full-time clinical gastroenterologist at Indiana University Hospital.

His major research interests have been in colorectal disease and, in particular, colorectal cancer screening and the technical performance of colonoscopy. He co-authored the colorectal cancer screening recommendations of the American College of Gastroenterology and those of the Gastroenterology Consortium. He has authored more than 110 original research papers, 50 book chapters, 100 invited papers and editorials, and 15 guideline papers. He is an Associate Editor of Journal Watch Gastroenterology and Reviews on Gastroenterological Disorders, and is a member of the Editorial Boards of Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Journal of Clinical Gastroenterology, World Journal of Gastroenterology and Gastroenterology and Hepatology. He has served as the ACG representative to the National Colorectal Cancer Round Table, and from 2000-2006 was the chairman of the U.S. Multi-Society (ACG, ASGE, AGA, ACP-ASIM) Task Force on Colorectal Cancer. He has also served in the American College of Gastroenterology as Chairman of the Board of Governors, Secretary, and Treasurer and is a Past President of the ACG. He received the Outstanding Teacher Award in the Introduction to Medicine course five times and has been awarded the Indiana University School of Medicine Outstanding Teacher Award as well as the Department of Medicine's Excellence in Teaching Award. He was awarded Distinguished Professor in 2009.