Eugene C. Klatte


School of Medicine Glenn W. Irwin, Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award (1990)
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
School of Medicine
Department of Radiology
M.D., 1952


Dr. Klatte received a B.A. in Chemistry from Indiana University in 1949 and a M.D. in 1952. He was appointed Assistant Professor of Radiology, Indiana University School of Medicine in 1958, Associate Professor in 1961, and Professor in 1971, and in 1979 he was appointed Distinguished Professor of Radiology. He was Chairman, Department of Radiology from 1971 to 1991. Dr. Klatte was also Professor and Chairman Department of Radiology, Vanderbilt University, 1962-1971.

Dr. Klatte has received numerous honors including Phi Beta Kappa, 1947; Alpha Omega Alpha, 1951; Picker Scholar in Radiological Research, Indiana University School of Medicine, 1957-59; Gold Medal Award of the Association of University Radiologists, 1989; Glenn W. Irwin, Jr. Award for Distinguished Faculty Service, Indiana University, 1990; School of Medicine Alumni Association, May, 1990; Gold Medal Award of the American Roentgen Ray Society, 1991; Gold Medal Award of the Indiana Roentgen Society, 1996; Gold Medal Award Radiological Society of North America, 1998.

Dr. Klatte is a member of numerous professional societies including American Board of Radiology; American College of Chest Physicians, Fellow; American College of Radiology, Fellow; American College of Radiology, Board of Chancellors; American Roentgen Ray Society; American Medical Association; Association of University Radiologists; Indiana State Medical Association; Indiana Chapter, American College of Radiology; Radiological Society of North America; Society of Cardiovascular Radiology, fellow; Society of Chairmen of Academic Radiology Departments; and Southern Radiological Society. He is also a reviewer for American Journal of Roentgenology, Radiology, and JAMA.