Richard T. Miyamoto


President's Medal for Excellence (2018)
Celebration of Academic Excellence
Location: Bloomington
Presenter: Michael A. McRobbie
National Academy of Medicine (2003)
National Academy of Medicine
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
School of Medicine
Department of Otolaryngology and Head/Neck Surgery
Royal Society of Medicine (1993)
Royal Society of Medicine


Richard T. Miyamoto, M.D., F.A.C.S., F.A.A.P. is the Arilla Spence DeVault Professor and Chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at the Indiana University School of Medicine. He received a B.S. degree from Wheaton College, Wheaton, Illinois, an M.D. degree from the University of Michigan, and M.S. in Otology from the University of Southern California. He was awarded an honorary Doctor of Engineering degree from the Rose Hulman Institute of Technology. He completed his residency at Indiana University and fellowship in Otology and Neurotology at the House Ear Institute.

Dr. Miyamoto is currently President of the Association of Academic Departments of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and President of the Centurions of the Deafness Research Foundation. He is a Director of the American Board of Otolaryngology and serves on the Residency Review Committee. He is a member of the Medical Advisory Board of the National Organization for Hearing Research and the Ear Foundation, the Royal Society of Medicine (England), the Collegium Otorhinolaryngologicum Amicitae Sacrum, and Institute of Medicine of the National Academies. He is a member of the Indiana Hearing Aid Licensing Board. He is the principal investigator on two NIDCD R01 grants studying speech perception, speech production and language in children with cochlear implants.

Among his past positions are the following: President of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery President of the American Neurotology Society, President of the Association for Research in Otolaryngology, President of the William F. House Society, President of the Indiana chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha, President of the Board of the St. Joseph Institute for the Deaf-Indianapolis, President of the Alumni Fellowship Group of the House Ear Institute, Vice-President of the Triological Society, and trustee of the Bloedel Hearing Research Center. He has served on the Indiana Speech and Hearing Licensing Board, the executive committee of the American Auditory Society, and the Advisory Council of the National Institute for Deafness and Other Communication Disorders. He has served as an Associate Editor for Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery and also for JARO as well as serving on eight additional editorial boards.