Mohammad R. Torabi


Bicentennial Medal (2019)
Provost Medallion (2017)
Provost Medallion
Location: Bloomington
Titled Professor (1997)
Chancellor's Professor of Applied Health Science
Indiana University Bloomington
School of Public Health
W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service (1997)
Indiana University Bloomington
School of Public Health
President's Award for Teaching (1993)
Indiana University Bloomington
School of Public Health


Professor Torabi received a B.S. and M.S.P.H. from the University of Tehran; Ph.D. from Purdue University; and M.P.H. from Indiana University. He is a former founding Dean of the School of Public Health-Bloomington, and served as Chair of the Department of Applied Health Science for eleven years. He is a fellow of six national and international professional health organizations in his field. Mohammad (Mo) has also served as Co-Director of the Institute for Drug Abuse Prevention, Co-Director of the Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention, and Director of the Center for Health and Safety Studies.

His research focus has been in the area of measurement and evaluation of school and public health education programs and factors associated with health behavior. His research extends into health promotion and key factors related to individuals' decisions in the prevention of drug abuse, cancer, HIV/AIDS infection. He has extensively published his research in a variety of major journals in the field. He has authored and coauthored several book chapters, book, and monographs. His scholarly work in the area of AIDS/STD prevention led him to an endowed professorship (W. L. Yarber Professor of Health Education, 1998-99). Professor Torabi has served as a research consultant for various state and national organizations, including governmental and non-governmental agencies, and has presented his research in major national and international conferences.

Dr. Torabi served as Editor of the Health Education Monograph Series, Assistant Research Editor of the Journal of School Health and Research Editor for the American Journal of Health Behavior. He has served as a member of the National Executive Board of the American School Health Association, at-large member of the National Council of the American Lung Association, a Board member of the American Association of Health Education and a member of the National Executive Committee of Eta Sigma Gamma, a Health Science Honorary. He served as President of the American Academy of Health Behavior and as Vice President for the North American Region office of the International Union of Health Promotion and Education. Dr. Torabi has also served as the President of the American Lung Association of Indiana and President of the IU Chapter of Phi Delta Kappa.

His contributions have been recognized by numerous awards, such as the Research Council Award of the American School Health Association, and the Midwest District Scholar of the American Alliance for HPER. He also received the Outstanding Researcher Award from the School of HPER, Indiana University Presidents' Award for Distinguished Teaching, School of HPER Outstanding Teacher Award, the Murray Auerbach Medal from the American Lung Association of Indiana, National Distinguished Service Award from the American School Health Association, the Indiana University Distinguished Service Award, and the Indiana University W. George Pinnell Award for outstanding service. Also he was selected a Distinguished Alumnus of Purdue University. He is a Fellow of: American School Health Association, AAHPERD Research Consortium, American Academy of Health Behavior, and American Association of Health Education. In 1997, he was named a Chancellors' Professor at Indiana University. In 2000, he was selected as the Year 2000 Scholar of the American Association for Health Education and was selected as a Charter Fellow of the North American Society of Health, Physical Education, and Recreation. In 2001, he received the highest honor bestowed by the American School Health Association, the William A. Howe Award, for outstanding contributions and distinguished service in school health.

In April 2017, Mo received the Provost Medal for his distinguished academic career and exemplary service to Indiana University as the Founding Dean of School of Public Health-Bloomington.