Maynard Kiplinger Hine


Honorary Degree (1979)
Doctor of Science
Location: Indianapolis
Presenter: John William Ryan
School of Dentistry Honorary Member Award (1972)
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
School of Dentistry


In addition to his national and international leadership roles in the dental profession, Maynard K. Hine served as the first chancellor of Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis. He was widely recognized for his contributions to the health sciences and to higher education.

Dr. Hine was born on August 25, 1907. A native of Waterloo, Indiana, Dr. Hine moved to Tuscola, IL as a child, and earned his D.D.S. ('30) and M.S. ('32) at the University of Illinois. After practicing with his father, a general practitioner, for a few years, he pursued Carnegie (1935) and Rockefeller (1936) fellowships at the University of Rochester in New York. He then returned to the University of Illinois to join the dental faculty as a teacher of oral pathology, where he remained for eight years.

In 1944, he joined the Indiana University School of Dentistry as a full professor, head of oral histopathology and periodontics, and became dean of the School the following year. Under his 23-year administration, the School became recognized as one of the outstanding centers for dental education and research in the world. Among the School's distinctive strengths he helped cultivate were a pioneering emphasis on preventive dentistry, development of statewide programs in continuing dental education, and establishment of dental specialty training programs and major basic research activities. He retired from this position in 1968.

Dr. Hine was appointed Chancellor of IUPUI in 1969, when the two universities merged their campuses in Indianapolis. He successfully accomplished the unprecedented task of bringing these varying programs into a cohesive framework, while maintaining exceptional rates of growth in enrollments, new degree programs, and other educational activities. He retired as Chancellor in 1973, assuming the posts of special consultant to the president of Indiana University, executive associate of the Indiana University Foundation, and professor of periodontics at the School of Dentistry. He was named professor emeritus and chancellor emeritus in 1977.

Dr. Hine established and served as first president of the American Fund for Dental Health. He was a former president of many organizations, including the American Dental Association, International Association for Dental Research, American Association of Endodontists, American Association of Dental Schools, American Association of Dental Editors, American Academy of Periodontology, Federation Dentaire Internationale, and American Academy of the History of Dentistry. He served as vice president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and chair of its dental section. In the Hoosier state, Dr. Hine served as president of the Indiana State Dental Association (now the Indiana Dental Association) and the Indianapolis District Dental Society. He also presided over the Central Indiana Council on Aging, and chaired the executive board of the Indiana State Board (now Department) of Health. Dr. Hine was a founding diplomat of the American Board of Endodontics and a diplomat of the American Board of Periodontology.

Dr. Hine co-authored five books, including one of the best known and most highly regarded dental texts in history, Shafer Hine and Levy's A Textbook of Oral Pathology; served as editor of the Journal of Periodontology from 1950 to 1970; served in a number of national consulting roles; and was active in community service organizations.

Dr. Hine received numerous honorary doctoral degrees and other types of citations and recognition throughout his life. He held Gold Medal awards from the American Academy of Periodontology and the Pierre Fauchard Academy; distinguished service awards from the ADA, IDA, and Thomas P. Hinman Society; a Williams J. Gies award from the American College of Dentists; an Edgar D. Coolidge award from the American Association of Endodontists; honorary membership in the American Academy of Dental Science; and honorary fellowships in the Royal College of Surgeons (Ireland), the Philippine College of Oral Surgeons, and the Royal College of Dentists of Canada. In 1974, Indiana University created the Maynard K. Hine Award to honor individuals for outstanding contributions to the alumni association on the Indianapolis campus. Many other IU research and scholarship awards and programs are named in his honor.

It is noted that Dr. Hine received the honorary degree from IUPUI in 1979 - the same year the School of Dentistry observed its 100th anniversary of dental education in Indiana. As the School's dean for nearly a quarter of that century, the degree was made in recognition of the many years of service he devoted to the School of Dentistry and the University.

Dr. Hine remained ardently committed to the dental profession until his death on November 23, 1996.