Leslie Curtis Shively


Bicentennial Medal (2019)
Stahr Senior Award (1976)
Indiana University Bloomington


Leslie Curtis Shively is an IU alumnus and former student trustee on the IU Board of Trustees. Shively earned a B.S. from IU Bloomington, M.B.A. from IUPUI and J.D. from the McKinney School of Law at IUPUI. He was the first student trustee appointed by Governor Bowen in 1976.

Shively was a member of the Phi Gamma Delta fraternity, Phi Eta Sigma scholastic honorary, Blue Key, Phi Delta Phi legal fraternity, and a past president of the Interfraternity Council at IUB. He was a member of the Health Center Student Advisory Board, the IU Student Foundation, the Student Association Senate, and was the recipient of the Elvis J. Stahr Award (1976). He was a founder and member of the Board of Directors of the Methodist Temple Inner City Camp in Evansville, IN. His service to Indiana University continued as a member of the School of Business Alumni Advisory Board (1981-1984) and president of the Vanderburgh county IU Alumni Association (1980).

Shively is a member of the Indiana and Evansville Bar Associations, and was associated with the law firm of Johnson, Carroll, and Griffith. Before his appointment to the bench, Shively was the founding partner in Shively and Associates. He was appointed to a vacated seat on the Vanderburgh County Superior Court of Indiana in 2013, and was then re-elected to that seat in 2014 and 2020.

From 2001 to 2011, Shively served as a member of the Indiana State Board of Law Examiners and was president for two years. He is actively involved in his community through organizations such as Youth First, the Methodist Youth Home, Leadership Evansville, YMCA, Community Action Program, and the Vanderburgh County 4-H Center. Along with his service on the IU Board of Trustees, he has served on the Indiana State Student Assistance Commission and the Ivy Tech Community College State Board.

Shively received the IU Bicentennial Medal in September 2019 in recognition of his distinguished service as the first student trustee on the IU Board of Trustees.