Robert J. Deputy


Honorary Degree (2008)
Doctor of Humane Letters
Location: South Bend
Presenter: Michael McRobbie
Partners in Philanthropy (2008)
Cornerstone Award
IUSB Chancellor's Medallion (2007)
IUSB Chancellor's Medallion
Location: South Bend
IUAA President's Award (2006)
Indiana University South Bend
B.S., 1960; M.B.A., 1962


Long-time Elkhart business leader and philanthropist Robert Deputy received an honorary degree from Indiana University South Bend in May of 2008. Deputy, along with fellow civic leader Art Decio, led the campaign to build the IU South Bend Elkhart Center. Dozens of Elkhart area residents came forward to meet the challenge. Through their efforts more than $4 million was raised in private donations and the center was opened for classes in August 2007.

In addition to supporting higher education, Deputy was involved in the classroom. He taught classes for IU South Bend at Elkhart Central and Elkhart Memorial high schools. He knew then that a permanent location was needed to make higher education more accessible to Elkhart citizens.

Deputy received his bachelor's and master's degrees from IU Bloomington. He also has ushered five children to graduation at IU Bloomington.

Deputy was president and CEO of Godfrey Marine until his retirement in late 2006. He has been involved in numerous civic activities and boards including the National Association of Boat Manufacturers, WNIT, Elkhart General Hospital, Elkhart Chamber Foundation, United Way of Elkhart County, Ruthmere Foundation and Coachman Industries.

He received the Distinguished Citizen Award in 1992 from the LaSalle Council, Boy Scouts of America, the Volunteer of the Year from United Way in 2002, and the Sagamore of the Wabash in 2002.In 2006, Deputy received the alumni association President's Award from IUSB for being an outstanding volunteer leader. He is a member of the IU South Bend Advisory Board, and served on the Elkhart Center steering committee and as the president of the Elkhart Chapter of the IU Alumni Association. Deputy is a life member of the IU Alumni Association and received the Armstrong Award from IU South Bend's School of Business and Economics for 1996-97.