Scott C. Schurz


Bicentennial Medal (2019)
Presidents Circle Laurel Pin (2016)
Partners in Philanthropy (2008)
Bill Orwig Award (2005)
Honorary Degree (2000)
Doctor of Humane Letters
Rededication of IUF
Location: Bloomington, Indiana
Presenter: Myles Neil Brand


Scott C. Schurz Sr. serves as Vice President and Vice Chairman of Schurz Communications, Inc. Mr. Schurz serves as President of Hoosier-Times, Inc., a subsidiary of Schurz Communications, Inc. (SCI). He serves as a Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of the (Bloomington, IN) Herald-Times, the (Bedford, IN) Times-Mail, the (Martinsville, IN) Reporter, the (Mooresville, IN) Times and the (Beech Grove, IN) Southside Times. He holds the office of Treasurer.

Prior to moving to Bloomington in 1966, Mr. Schurz began his newspaper career in the SCI corporation at the (Hagerstown, MD) Morning Herald and Daily Mail, at the South Bend Tribune and WSBT-TV, and the (El Centro, CA) Imperial Valley Press and Brawley News. He has served as President of the International Newspaper Marketing Association since 1986, Inland Press Association from 1985 to 1986 and of the Hoosier State Press Association from 1989 to 1997. He serves as Chairman of the Board of Hoosier-Times Inc. and as Vice Chairman of the Newspaper Association of America Foundation.

Mr. Schurz has been a Director of the Indiana University Foundation since 1986 and has been involved in numerous community fund raising activities. He serves as a Director of Schurz Communications Inc. Mr. Schurz serves as a Board Member of the Hoosier State Press Association and Inter-American Press Association, and serves on the board of the World Association of Newspapers. Other past association affiliations has been with the American Newspaper Publishers Association and the Newspaper Advertising Bureau. He serves as the Chairman of the Newspapers in Education Committee. He served as the Chairman of the Environmental Committee. Mr. Schurz serves as a Member of the International Press Institute and the World Press Freedom Committee. He served as a Member of the Technology and Telecommunications Committee, Newsprint Committee.

He was honored with their Silver Shovel Award in 1988 and Inland's Distinguished Service Award in 1994. He was awarded the HSPA Distinguished Service Award in 1998 and the First Freedom Award in 2002. He earned a B.A. degree from Denison University in 1957 and an Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters from Indiana University in 2000. He also received the Bill Orwig Medal from Indiana University in 2005.