Jerry L. Yeagley


Bicentennial Medal (2020)
President's Medal for Excellence (2018)
Excellence Academy Dedication
Location: Bloomington, IN
Presenter: Michael A. McRobbie
IUB Athletics Hall of Fame (2009)
IU Foundation President's Medallion (2004)
Bill Orwig Award (1995)


Jerry Yeagley was the coach of the IU Men's Soccer team from 1973 to 2003. Yeagley came to Indiana University as a Physical Education teacher, and started coaching the soccer team when it was just a club. With no money or expenses, he kept the team on the road and competitive. In 1973, the University began fully supporting the team.

In his 31-year career, his teams made 28 NCAA tournament appearances, 16 appearances in the College Cup (soccer's analog to the Final Four), and 12 appearances in the national final, while winning 10 Big Ten championships and 6 National championships, in 1982, 1983, 1988, 1998, 1999, and 2003.

Jerry Yeagley is the only soccer coach to win the NCAA Divison One Coach of the Year twice, in 1976 and 1980. He is also the NCAA Division One's all-time winningest coach, with a record at retirement of 544-101-45. He was inducted into the National Soccer Hall of Fame in 1989.

When Yeagley retired in 2003, the soccer field at Bill Armstrong Stadium was named Jerry Yeagley Field. In 2020, Yeagley was awarded Indiana University's Bicentennial Medal, in recognition of his distinguished service and longstanding support of the university.