Franklin A. Bryan


IPFW Ralph E. Broyles Medal (1998)

B.S., 1939; M.D., 1942
IPFW Honorary Lifetime Alumni Board Member (1986)

School of Medicine
B.S., 1939; M.D., 1942


Franklin A. Bryan was born on July 4, 1917, in Leo, Indiana.

Frank began his undergraduate studies on a music scholarship at the University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida in 1935. After two years, he transferred to Indiana University Bloomington where he received his B.S. in Biology in 1939 and his M.D. from the Indiana University School of Medicine in 1942. He partially supported himself by working as a pathology lab assistant at the former Marion County General Hospital. Following graduation, he completed a 12-month rotating internship there.

Frank was proud of the fact that he received both his M.D. degree and military commission on the very day he married his devoted wife, Virginia Carman, on May 9, 1942.

After an overseas medical tour of duty as Battalion Surgeon during World War II in the southwest Pacific, Frank returned to Indiana. He completed residency training in internal medicine at the Indianapolis General Hospital in 1948. He established his medical practice in Fort Wayne following training.

In 1970, Frank became the first Director of the Fort Wayne Center for Medical Education. He remained in that capacity until 1986 when he retired for health reasons.

Frank was a leader in medical education in the state of Indiana. His many accomplishments in this arena include the establishment of the first rotating internship in the state beyond Marion County; establishment of one of the first Family Practice Residency Programs in the state beyond Marion County; and development of the first Physician Assistant Program in the state of Indiana. Frank also evolved a three-hospital consortium in Fort Wayne to support the residency and physician continuing medical education. This concept has served as a funding model for other Indiana sites.

Frank was a member of numerous professional organizations including the Fort Wayne Medical Society, the Indiana 12thDistrict Medical Society, Indiana State Medical Association, and the American Medical Association. He was a member of the board and past president of the Three Rivers Neighborhood Health Services, Inc., and past president of the ISMA's section on Directors of Medical Education. He was appointed a Sagamore of the Wabash by fellow IUSM classmate and then-governor Otis Bowen in 1980. For his significant services to various community organizations, Dr. Bryan received the following honors: American Red Cross Blood Services Distinguished Service Award, Fort Wayne Medical Society Community Service Award, and the Ralph E. Broyles Medal from IPFW.

Bryan died on January 26, 2002.