Jeanne S. Miller


Bicentennial Medal (2019)
Distinguished Alumni Service Award (1990)
B.A., 1946; LL.B., 1948; J.D., 1967
Honorary Degree (1989)
Doctor of Laws
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Presenter: Thomas Ehrlich
Maurer School of Law Academy of Law Alumni Fellows (1988)


A New Haven attorney, Jeanne S. Miller was a respected leader in civic, educational, and legal organizations in Indiana. She received the bachelor's degree from Indiana University with high honors and the JD with distinction from Indiana University, graduating at the top of her law class.

The first woman to be elected president of the Indiana State Bar Association, Miller emphasized professionalism on the part of lawyers; she served with brilliance, fair-mindedness, and common sense on local and state boards studying judicial reform in Indiana. She was frequently called upon to give advice or lend her professional stature to women's issues and was named an outstanding Fort Wayne woman.

She served as president of the East Allen County Board of School Trustees and on that county's school reorganization committee, as an Indiana University trustee and as a director of the Indiana-Purdue Foundation at Fort Wayne. Miller was awarded the Broyles Medal at the Fort Wayne campus for unique and significant contributions to her University, and received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from Indiana University in 1989.