Kathryn H. Russell


Leanne Grotke Award (2014)


Kathryn Russell began her career with Indiana University playing women's basketball in 1968. At the time, she was the tallest player on the team as a freshman playing center. In the season of 1970, she helped the Hoosiers reach the first Women's National Basketball Tournament in Boston as a starting forward. She continued to help the team improve as the Hoosiers reached the tournament the following 2 years, making the Elite 8 in 1972, losing to the eventual champion, Immaculata University.

Following her graduation in 1972, Kathryn served as a charter member of the I-Women's Association in 1995, then became the Vice President from 2000 until 2004. During her years of service she served on two groundbreaking committees: the first merged the I-Women's and I-Men's Associations into a single organization; the I Association and the other established the first Honorary Award for IU Female Athletic Contributions that eventually resulted in the Grotke Awards.