Robin P. Newhouse


Distinguished Professor (2017)
Distinguished Professor
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)
School of Nursing
National Academy of Medicine (2017)
National Academy of Medicine
Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)


Robin Newhouse completed her A.A. in Nursing from Anne Arundel Community College, her B.S. in Nursing at the University of Maryland, University College, and her M.S in Nursing Administration and Ph.D. in Nursing at the University of Maryland, School of Nursing. She has taught as a professor at University of Maryland's School of Nursing, and the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing; as a lecturer at the Health Sciences Division of Loyola University in Chicago; and as visiting professor at the College of Nursing, Kaohsiung Medical University in Taiwan. In 2015, she joined IU as Dean of the School of Nursing, Deputy Chair of the University Clinical Affairs Cabinet, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs at IU Health, and adjunct faculty member at the Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health.

A "pioneer in the development of translational science," Dr. Newhouse "has become the 'go to' scholar in the field of quality and safety within clinical environments and one of a small number of scholars with deep knowledge of research related to the science and methodology of credentialing." Most known for her cutting-edge health services research and evidence-based care processes, her development of evidence-based translation models are used around the world to guide health system clinician decisions. Newhouse led the development, testing, and refinement of what became known as the Johns Hopkins Nursing Evidence-Based Practice Model. She conducted a review of the effectiveness of advanced practice registered nurses, her most cited paper, which has shaped the use of advanced nurses in today's practice settings.

Dr. Newhouse served as Principal Investigator for the Improving Heart Failure Outcomes study which was a national, multi-site study involving 40 hospitals that used a quasi-experimental design to implement a toolkit of evidence-based practices for heart failure care. The findings demonstrated the effect of caregiving interventions on patients' outcomes, particularly their self-management and readmission. After this important study, she was invited to serve on an Institute of Medicine Consensus Committee concerned with cardiac arrest and also asked to participate in two Institute of Medicine committees concerned with credentialing research. While Dr. Newhouse's research and models have clearly had an impact on the nursing profession, it is interprofessionally where she has had perhaps even greater impact. She was appointed to the Methodology Committee of the federally-mandated Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute in 2011 and became the committee chair in 2013. She was elected to the AcademyHealth Board of Directors in 2013 and currently serves as vice chair.

Newhouse has published in JAMA, Milbank Quarterly, Medical Care, International Journal of Integrated Care, as well as numerous nursing journals, including Journal of Nursing Scholarship, Nursing Outlook, Nursing Economics, and Journal of Nursing Administration. Her writings have also been award-winning; she received the American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses' Mary Hanna Award for Journalism and the Nursing Economics' Margaret Sovie Writer's Award. Dr. Newhouse has been invited as an international guest lecturer at hospitals and universities in Kenya, London, Taiwan and China, as well as many universities across the United States; and the presidents of both the American Nurses Association and the American Academy of Nursing asked Dr. Newhouse to provide leadership to a task force that produced Policy Agenda for Nurse-Led Care Coordination. Dr. Newhouse has received numerous honors and awards, including her induction into the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame, the prestigious President's Award from the American Nurse Credentialing Center, and was named Researcher of the Year from University of Maryland, Baltimore Founder's Week Award.