Linda Greenhouse


Honorary Degree (2016)
Doctor of Humane Letters
Location: Bloomington


Linda Greenhouse is the Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law and Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence at Yale Law School. She assumed these positions in January 2009 after a 40-year career at the New York Times, including nearly 30 years covering the U.S. Supreme Court. In addition to full-time teaching at Yale, where her focus is the Supreme Court, she writes a biweekly opinion column for the New York Times website.

During her journalistic career, she won numerous awards, including a Pulitzer Prize in 1998. Other awards include the John Chancellor Award for Excellence in Journalism (2004); the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism and the Carey McWilliams Award from the American Political Science Association for "a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics." (2002)

Greenhouse is a former member of the Harvard University Board of Overseers (2009-2015) and of the National Board of the American Constitution Society (2010-2016). She currently serves on the Council of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; the National Senate of Phi Beta Kappa; and as a Vice President of the American Philosophical Society, which in 2005 awarded her the Henry Allen Moe Prize for writing in jurisprudence and the humanities. She is one of two non-lawyers elected to honorary membership in the American Law Institute, which awarded her the Henry Friendly Medal in 2002. She has received eleven honorary degrees.

Among her publications are: Becoming Justice Blackmun, a biography of the justice; Before Roe v. Wade: Voices that Shaped the Abortion Debate Before the Supreme Court's Ruling (with Reva B. Siegel); The U.S. Supreme Court: A Very Short Introduction; and the Burger Court and the Rise of the Judicial Right (with Michael Graetz), published by Simon and Schuster in 2016. She is a graduate of Radcliffe College (Harvard) and earned a Master of Studies in Law degree from Yale Law School, which in 2007 awarded her the Yale Law School Alumni Association Award of Merit.