Bruce Hetrick


Bicentennial Medal (2019)


Bruce Hetrick received a B.A. in English and Political Science from Indiana University. A Phi Beta Kappa graduate, Hetrick's relationship with IU has stretched far beyond graduation. He taught as a visiting professor and professor of practice at the School of Liberal Arts, IUPUI, and was a visiting professor of public relations at the School of Journalism, IU Bloomington.

A veteran communications leader and strategist, Hetrick has over three decades of experience in public relations, advertising and journalism. He is currently the president of Powerful Appeals, Inc., a solo PR consulting company. He was also president and CEO of Hetrick Communications, Inc. Throughout his nuanced career, Hetrick has given advice, counsel, strategic insight and counsel and communication to a variety of corporate and non-profit organizations, local government entities, and professional service corporations. Previous experience includes a position as a columnist at Indiana Business Journal, director of public relations for Methodist Hospital of Indiana, vice president and associate creative director at Minz and Hoke, Inc., and press secretary for the Office of the Mayor in the city of Fort Wayne, Indiana. Hetrick's civic involvement is extremely active; after losing his wife to an illness attributed to second-hand smoke, he became a huge advocate for smoke-free workplace cause. Hetrick currently serves as board treasurer for Americans for Nonsmokers' Rights and the American Nonsmokers' Rights foundation. He also serves on the leadership board of the American Lung Association/Indiana and ALA's Upper Midwest Advocacy Workgroup, and the boards of United Way of Central Indiana and the Indiana University Simon Cancer Center Development Board.

Hetrick has won numerous state, national and international public relations and marketing awards. He is an accredited member of the Public Relations Society of America and was inducted into their prestigious College of Fellows. In 2019, Hetrick received Indiana University's Bicentennial Medal in recognition of his distinguished contributions and support of the university.