Celebration of Distinguished Teaching Event

Each spring, as part of Founders Day, which marks the anniversary of Indiana University's founding in 1820, the university honors its faculty members at the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie presides over the presentation of awards at this event, which also includes a reception, musical entertainment, and a dinner for honored faculty members and their guests.

Some or all of the following faculty awards are presented every year on this occasion:

Distinguished Professorships

Distinguished Teaching Awards, including the following:

The Frederic Bachman Lieber Memorial Award

The Herman Frederic Lieber Memorial Award

The Sylvia E. Bowman Award

The President's Award

The Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award

The Part-Time Teaching Award

The Thomas Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Service Learning

The W. George Pinnell Award for Outstanding Service

The John W. Ryan Award for Distinguished Contributions to International Programs and Studies

The President's Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology