Distinguished Teaching Awards

The University encourages nominations for the highest and most prestigious teaching awards that Indiana University offers. The purpose of the awards is to call attention to the importance of teaching as well as to recognize those who have demonstrated excellence in a wide range of pedagogical activities. Awards are presented at the Celebration of Distinguished Teaching and Service, held each spring.

The names of award recipients who are regular faculty members are engraved on plaques in the Indiana Memorial Union. All recipients receive a cash award and a certificate.

The Committee on Distinguished Teaching Awards grants four teaching awards to full-time faculty, regardless of rank or title. Criteria and links are listed below.

In addition, the following Teaching Awards are also granted by the University:

  • The Lieber Memorial Teaching Associate Award is available to outstanding teachers among the university's graduate students.
  • The Part-Time Teaching Award calls attention to the importance of part-time teaching and recognizes part-time faculty who have demonstrated excellence.
  • The Thomas Ehrlich Service Learning Award  is open to all tenure and non-tenure track faculty and honors those who have shown outstanding leadership in integrating community and public service into their curricula.
  • The President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Technology is open to faculty who have demonstrated a past and ongoing commitment to enhancing the classroom experience through the use of new technologies to encourage student learning, motivation, and creativity and whose work and scholarship uses technology to have a significant impact beyond their department and classroom.

Nominations may be made online no later than October 15, 2019. Visiting or emeritus faculty will not be considered for these awards.